What are different DNS records

DNS records (aka zone files) are instructions that live in authoritative DNS servers and provide information about a domain including what IP address is associated with that domain and how to handle requests for that domain. These records consist of a series of text files written in what is known as DNS syntax. DNS syntax is just a string of characters used as commands which tell the DNS server what to do. All DNS records also have a ‘TTL’, which stands for time-to-live, and indicates how often a DNS server will refresh that record.

  • A record - The record that holds the IP address of a domain.
  • AAAA record is essentially the same as A record but for IPv6 addresses.
  • CNAME record - Forwards one domain or subdomain to another domain, does NOT provide an IP address.
  • MX record - Directs mail to an email server.
  • TXT record - Lets an admin store text notes in the record.
  • NS record - Stores the name server for a DNS entry.
  • SOA record - Stores admin information about a domain.
  • SRV record - Specifies a port for specific services.
  • PTR record - Provides a domain name in reverse-lookups.

THANK YOU........ :)

  • 52 Users Found This Useful
Was this answer helpful?

Related Articles

How to check if all the domain DNS records are proper for Email Delivery

There are variety of mail analyzing tools such as https://www.mail-tester.com/. To check the...